Site icon Learn Forget

Standard Meridian of India – Everything You Need to Know

Standard Meridian

Geography makes us confused sometimes about the time calculations. Is your child facing issues with the Standard Meridian term? Or the students who have read it are not clear yet? Every student has to go through the topic to understand the time calculation. There arises confusion also. Don’t worry. Here’s everything you need to know about the Standard Meridian of India. India is such a country which is located between the east and West Asia. 

What is the Standard Meridian of India?

Indian standard time (IST) is acknowledged all over India. We have acknowledged 82°30′ E longitude as the Standard Meridian of India because of its position in the middle. It passes through the city of Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh. It was necessary to understand and differentiate the exact time in each region. In 1905, this was selected as the Standard Meridian to create the Indian Standard Time.

Also Read: National Vegetable of India

Why Do We Need a Standard Meridian for India?

The hour of a spot relies upon the longitude that goes through it. Consequently, every nation’s standard time is usually taken as the hour of the central meridian that goes through it. India is a country with numerous longitudinal degrees. Since numerous meridians go through it, it is critical to embrace one central meridian’s nearby season as the standard time for the country. Hence, we need a standard meridian for the country. In India, 82 ½ °E longitude decides the standard time. This is known as the Indian Standard Time or IST. This longitude goes through Allahabad in Uttar Pradesh.

Importance of Standard Meridian

Here are some points which define the importance of the standard meridian of India. 

  1. It is helpful for the country as it shows and fixes a specific time for the country. 
  2. It records equivalent time everywhere in the country. 
  3. It drops the disarray of delay between two areas that are far separated from one another.

How Many States Fall under the Standard Meridian?

There are five states which are covered by the Standard Meridian. Those states are Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Orissa, and Andhra Pradesh. The local time is not quite the same from one place to another. In India, there is a distinction of around 1 hour 45 minutes in the local time of Dwarka in Gujarat and Dibrugarh in Assam. Consequently, the local time of some central meridian of a nation is acknowledged as the standard time for the country.

Also Read: Why Were Chainsaws Invented?

Standard Meridian of the World

For more information, The Greenwich Meridian was chosen as the Prime Meridian of the World in 1884. 41 representatives from 25 countries were gathered in Washington DC because of the International Meridian Conference. Before the finish of the gathering, Greenwich had won the prize of Longitude 00 by a vote of 22 to 1 against (San Domingo), with 2 abstentions (France and Brazil). 

Exit mobile version